NaNoWriMo Has Come & Gone

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 11.34.42 AM

My Experience

National Novel Writing Month has come and gone. I signed up. I did not write a novel. Why?

  • I hosted Thanksgiving
  • My daughter left home to live part-time with her first ever boyfriend (yes, I took it hard)
  • My husband agreed to work on our kitchen remodel. Seriously, if you had to choose between helping him get it done, or writing, which would you choose?
  • Plumbing emergency. Can you say “Beacon”?

Throw in multiple loads of laundry, shopping, cleaning, bill paying….you know, life-stuff, and writing a novel in one month just didn’t fit my schedule.

Am I Sorry I Participated in NaNoWriMo?

Nope. The NaNoWriMo challenge encourages participants to aim for a 50k minimum word count. Despite my busy schedule, I got up to 8,000. Not bad. Now I have a story, some character development, and some pretty good ideas on where the plot needs to go, which is more than if I hadn’t signed up.

NaNoWriMo also offered a lot of support, tips, and community. I learned new things.

My Novel Will Take More Than a Month to Write

And I am okay with that.

I read somewhere that Sci Fi is the hardest genre to write. Guess what I picked? I couldn’t help it. I love Sci Fi! I love well thought-out Sci Fi, that makes you wonder, “Could that really happen?” That kind of writing takes a lot of research.

Spare Hours Spent Researching, Not Writing

I have notes upon notes, saved links and bookmarks, and open books all over my house. My head is swimming with ideas, facts, and research. Right now it’s like a bundle of my jewelry after traveling; it needs to be untangled and organized. When it is, I hope to come up with a storyline that is unbelievable, yet believable, if you know what I mean. I owe it to my readers who are Sci Fi connoisseurs. One reader, in particular, is a hardcore Sci Fi fan, since childhood. He will be my biggest critic (no pressure, right?).

Maybe This Time Next Year

If I write approx 3800 words per month, I should be finished by this time next year. I hope to do more but these numbers seem more realistic. Then if I sign up for NaNoWriMo next year, I’ll be near the 50k word minimum by November. Seems like a good goal!

How about you? Check out the NaNoWriMo site and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

